Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What is the gun that you sold and wish you could get back?
I know that many people from time to time have to part with a gun due to tough financial times.  A few years ago I had a few rifles up for sale. I didn't want to have them up, but when the wife lost her job without notice, we were in a tight spot that thankfully didn't last. I didn't end up having to part with them and was able to keep them.

What is the gun that you wish you didn't have to sell? Did it have sentimental value? was it nice but not functional for you? Did you have to get rid of it or sleep on the couch forever?

The one rifle that I sold but wish I hadn't was a Chinese made MAK-90 (AK variant). I was a very young Soldier and had just received orders to my first Korea tour in 1995. I was living in the barracks at Fort Hood, and my mom wanted it out of her house. I wasn't able to store it in the arms room, as they had been emptied, and turned over to another unit in advance of our unit move. I ended up having to sell it to a pawn broker in Killeen, TX, and I only was able to get $100 for it, less half of what I had paid 6 months earlier. I saw a few years ago that MAK-90s were going for about $2000...

I don't know what I would have done with that rifle for more than just target shooting; I suppose I could have hunted with it as the 7.62x39 is a very capable hunting round, but public land in Texas was very limited, and being on a hard time crunch, it probably worked out for the best.
[Image: gallardo.jpg]
You went full diabetes... Never go full diabetes.
Thanks given by:
I used to have one of those. I sold it to my brother. My Nephew has it now.
Thanks given by:
Colt King Cobra .357 stainless
Thanks given by: